Submission Guidelines for the Slamming Bricks Anthology 3rd Edition


Submissions for the Slamming Bricks Anthology 3rd Edition will be open from April 15, 2023 to July 15, 2023

The Slamming Bricks Slam Poetry Competition was started in 2019 by LGBTQ+ slam poet, Caleb Ferganchick, to explore resistance and liberation in honor of the 1969 Stonewall Riots. Poets from all over the American West competed in four rounds of poetry in a battle for the brick. In 2021, the first Slamming Bricks Anthology was created, featuring LGBTQ+, BIPOC, and/or AAPI poets across the U.S., and even a few internationally, in addition to the slam poets who performed their work at the 2021 poetry slam. This year, with support from the Western Colorado Writers’ Forum, we are creating a 3rd Edition of the Slamming Bricks Anthology!

Who: All LGBTQ+, BIPOC, and/or AAPI poets, ages 12 and up.


Call for Submissions: Poems exploring themes of resistance and liberation in some way. You may submit up to 2 poems (space permitting) in a Microsoft Word file. Be sure to include your name and a brief (1 paragraph) bio along with your poem(s) for your entry to be included in the anthology.


Format: Submit your poetry in a Microsoft Word file in the format you want it to appear in the anthology. All efforts will be made to keep the formatting as it is in the original submission file, but by submitting a poem, you agree that we can reformat it without your prior consent.


No entry fee and NO PLAGIARISM. By submitting your work, you agree and confirm that we can publish your piece in the anthology. You may submit your work and publish it elsewhere in addition to submitting it to this anthology. Rights remain yours. If your work is that of plagiarism, you agree to take full responsibility legally and otherwise for work you have claimed is originally yours.


Deadline: July 15th, 2023 (or earlier if all spaces are filled)

Release Date: September 9, 2023

The anthology will be sold at the Western Colorado Pride Fest and Slamming Bricks Slam Poetry Competition on September 9, 2023. It will also be available for purchase online. Proceeds from the sale of the anthology will support the Western Colorado Writers’ Forum, which helps fund the annual Slamming Bricks Slam Poetry Competition.

Everyone who has a poem included in the anthology will receive a free PDF copy of the anthology.


Send poetry submissions to:

Avery Brooks

(Editor of the anthology) at


To purchase a copy of the original Slamming Bricks Anthology or the Slamming Bricks Anthology 2nd Edition, you can follow the links to Blurb Books. Both editions can also be found on Amazon.

For more information on the Slamming Bricks Slam Poetry Competition, check out:

Click here to watch the 3rd Annual Slamming Bricks Slam Poetry Competition from 2021 with slam poets who were featured in the first Slamming Bricks Anthology.

Comments are closed.